German Ambassador, Matthias Meyer, takes part in the foundation ceremony of the German Alumni Association of Nepal

On 20 March 2015 the Ambassador of the Federal Republic of Germany, Matthias Meyer, participated in the foundation of the German Alumni Association of Nepal (GAAN).

GAAN, as Alumni umbrella organization, unites and represents from now on seven German-Nepalese Alumni Organizations with 51 members. With this concentration of knowledge and experience, GAAN provides new opportunities in the fields of cultural and scientific cooperation. GAAN supports furthermore Nepalese students that return from their studies in Germany and forms the cooperation contact for the work of the German Embassy with Alumni.

The idea of GAAN goes back to a meeting between the German Embassy in Kathmandu, the GIZ and eight Alumni Organizations. This meeting in 2013 initiated the foundation process of GAAN. Since then, the GIZ Nepal and the German Embassy accompanied and supported this foundation.

The newly elected President of GAAN, Prof. Dr. Joshi , expressed his gratitude for the active support by the Embassy and underlined the importance of GAAN for the German-Nepalese relations as well as for the Nepalese society.

In his speech, the Ambassador described GAAN as a bridge between Germany and Nepal, which enables the development of new activities. He assured, that the Embassy will be also in future contact and support for GAAN.

In 2014 alone, about 300 Nepalese students started their studies in Germany. After their return to Nepal, they form an important pool of knowledge and have a unique connection to Germany. With the help of the newly founded umbrella organization GAAN a concentration of this can be achieved.

German Ambassador, Matthias Meyer, takes part in the foundation ceremony of the German Alumni Association of Nepal

Foundation Ceremony of the German Alumni Association of Nepal

Deutscher Botschafter Matthias Meyer nimmt an der Gründung der German Alumni Association of Nepal teil

Am 20. März 2015 nahm der deutsche Botschafter Matthias Meyer an den Feierlichkeiten anlässlich der Gründung der German Alumni Association of Nepal (GAAN) teil.

GAAN vereinigt von nun an als Dachorganisation sieben deutsch-nepalesische Alumni Organisationen mit insgesamt 51 Mitgliedern, deren Interessen GAAN zukünftig vertreten wird. Durch die Bündelung von Wissen und Erfahrung eröffnet GAAN neue Möglichkeiten zur kulturellen und wissenschaftlichen Zusammenarbeit. Weiterhin unterstützt GAAN zukünftig rückkehrende Studenten aus Deutschland und ist Ansprechpartner der Botschaft in der Arbeit mit Alumni.

Die Initiative zu GAAN geht auf ein Treffen von der Deutschen Botschaft Kathmandu, der GIZ und acht Alumni Organisationen zurück. Gemeinsam initiierten sie im Jahr 2013 den Gründungsprozess von GAAN. Seitdem begleiteten und unterstützen die Deutsche Botschaft und die GIZ Nepal diese Gründung.

Der neu gewählte Präsident von GAAN, Prof. Dr. Joshi, dankte der Botschaft für ihre tatkräftige Unterstützung und würdigte die Bedeutung der neuen Organisation für die deutsch-nepalesischen Beziehungen sowie für die nepalesische Gesellschaft.

Der Botschafter hob in seiner Rede die Bedeutung von GAAN hervor. GAAN bilde eine Brücke zwischen Deutschland und Nepal, durch die neue Aktivitäten möglich werden. Die Botschaft werde auch weiterhin als Ansprechpartner und Unterstützer für GAAN zu Verfügung stehen.

Allein 2014 begannen über 300 nepalesische Studenten in Studium in Deutschland. Nach ihrer Rückkehr nach Nepal bilden sie einen wichtigen Wissenspool und haben eine einzigartige Verbindung zu Deutschland. Mit der Gründung von GAAN kann dieses Potential nun gebündelt werden.

Deutscher Botschafter Matthias Meyer nimmt an der Gründung der German Alumni Association of Nepal teil

Gründung der German Alumni Association of Nepal