Emerging Photo Narratives of Nepal

Taragaon Museum (© Taragaon Museum)

The German Embassy Kathmandu supports the photo exhibition titled “Emerging Photo Narratives of Nepal” in collaboration with Max Müller Bhavan (Goethe Institute) New Delhi. The exhibition which includes the works of 14 photographers from Nepal, India and Europe shows a display of Nepal’s distinctive culture and art.

Nepal today contributes to the global visual culture while examining its own unique contemporary social issues amid the debates on constitution and rebuilding the country from the devastation of earthquake in 2015. Little known studios, family photographs and images of State culture seem to merge in Nepal, creating a new visual genealogy in the region.

A pleasant number of visitors came to the Vernissage that took place on Friday, 30th September 2016. German Ambassador Matthias Meyer warmly welcomed the guests and opened with some remarks about the history of origin of the Nepalese PIX edition. In addition the curator highlighted the background of the photographers and their work.

The photographs are exhibited at Taragaon Museum Kathmandu from Friday, 30th September until Monday, 7th November.

Opening of the exhibition (© Taragaon Museum)

Scope: The Nepal Issue as part of PIX: A Photography Quarterly

PIX

featuring 14 artists and 10 writers Opening: Friday, September 30 at 6 pm Taragaon Museum, Boudhanath Sadak (inside Hyatt Regency), Nepal Closing date: November 7, 2016 Visiting hours: 10:00 am - ...

Eine Darstellung Nepals in Fotografien

Taragaon Museum (© Taragaon Museum)

Die Deutsche Botschaft Kathmandu unterstützt die Fotoausstellung „Emerging Photo Narratives of Nepal” in Zusammenarbeit mit Max Müller Bhavan (Goethe Institut) Neu-Delhi. Die Ausstellung, welche die Arbeiten von 14 Fotografen aus Nepal, Indien und Europa beinhaltet, zeigt einen Querschnitt der unverwechselbaren Kultur und Kunst Nepals.

Nepal trägt heute zur Präsentation einer globalen kulturellen Visualisierung bei und zeigt damit seine charakteristischen gesellschaftlichen Herausforderungen inmitten der Diskussion um die Verfassung und den Wiederaufbau nach dem verheerenden Erdbeben von 2015. Die Arbeiten kleinerer Studios, Familienfotos und Bilder, in denen die hiesige Landeskultur zum Ausdruck gebracht wird, verbinden sich, wodurch eine neue visuelle Genealogie der Region generiert wird.

Eine erfreulich große Anzahl von Besuchern erschien zur Vernissage am Freitag, den 30. September 2016. Der deutsche Botschafter Matthias Meyer hieß die Gäste herzlich willkommen und eröffnete die Ausstellung mit einer Rede, in der er die Entstehungsgeschichte der nepalesischen PIX-Ausgabe thematisierte. Außerdem hob der Kurator den Hintergrund der Fotografen und ihrer Werke hervor.

Die Fotografien sind zwischen dem 30. September und 7. November 2016 im Taragaon Museum Kathmandu zu sehen.

Ausstellungseröffnung (© Taragaon Museum)

PIX Fotoausstellung Nepal

PIX

14 Künstler und 10 Autoren Eröffnung: Freitag, 30. September 2016, 18:00 Uhr Taragaon Museum, Boudhanath Sadak (im Hyatt Regency), Nepal Die Ausstellung läuft bis zum 07. November 2016. Öffnungsze...