Visit of the German-South Asian Parliamentarian Group in Nepal

Einweihung Kileshwor (© Deutsche Botschaft Kathmandu)

From 4th to 6th of April 2016 a delegation from the German-South Asian Parliamentarian Group led by the deputy chairperson of the committee, Mrs. Tabea Rößner (Bündnis 90/Die Grünen), visited Nepal before they continued to Sri Lanka.

The delegates got a detailed picture of the current humanitarian and economic situation through talks with culture representatives, human rights defenders, representatives of the Nepalese Parliament, representatives of NGOs and business representatives. Another thematic focus laid on German cultural activities in Nepal: The issue was raised that Germany is contributing a lot of support for development cooperation but should also increase the efforts in hosting cultural events.

Besides visits at German funded reconstruction sites in Bhaktapur and Patan the highlight was the consecration of the Kileshwar temple in Changu Narayan. The delegation was part of the religious ceremony in order to express gratitude for the German funding. The project, which was funded with resources of the German Foreign Office, is the first completed restauration of a UNESCO World Heritage Site after the earthquake last year.

Besuch der Deutsch-Südasiatischen Parlamentarier-Gruppe in Nepal

Einweihung Kileshwor (© Deutsche Botschaft Kathmandu)

Vom 04.04. bis zum 06.04.2016 besuchte eine Delegation der Deutsch-Südasiatischen Parlamentarier-Gruppe unter Leitung der Ausschussvorsitzenden, Frau Tabea Rößner (Bündnis 90/Die Grünen), Nepal, bevor sie ihre Reise nach Sri Lanka weiterführte.

In Gesprächen mit Kulturvertretern, Menschenrechtsverteidigern, Vertretern des nepalesischen Parlaments, Vertretern von Nichtregierungsorganisationen und Wirtschaftsvertretern konnten sich die Abgeordneten ein detailliertes Bild der aktuellen humanitären und wirtschaftlichen Situation verschaffen. Ein weiterer thematischer Schwerpunkt war die deutsche kulturelle Präsenz in Nepal: In den Gesprächen wurde deutlich, dass Deutschland ein anerkanntes und intensives Engagement in der Entwicklungszusammenarbeit verfolgt, jedoch auch die kulturellen Angebote entsprechend ausgebaut werden könnten.

Neben Besuchen von deutschen Wiederaufbauprojekten in Bhaktapur und Patan war ein Höhepunkt die Einweihung des restaurierten Kileshwor Tempels in Changu Narayan. Die Delegation wurde in die religiöse Zeremonie eingebunden, um ihr gegenüber für die deutsche Unterstützung zu danken. Dieses von Mitteln des Kulturerhalts des Auswärtigen Amtes finanzierte Projekt ist die erste abgeschlossene Restauration eines UNESCO Weltkulturerbe Denkmals nach dem Erdbeben vergangenen Jahres.