Ms. Claudia Roth, Vice President of German Parliament, completes her successful visit to Nepal

Claudia Roth Enlarge image (© Narayan Maharjan, Office of the President of Nepal)

Ms. Claudia Roth, Vice President of the German Bundestag, paid a successful three-day visit to Nepal from 9th to 11th April 2017. The objective of the visit was to enhance cooperation between the Parliaments of Nepal and Germany, thereby contributing to strengthen longstanding bilateral friendship between our two countries.

While in Nepal, Vice President Roth paid courtesy visits to the Right Honourable President of Nepal, Bidya Devi Bhandari. Vice President Roth apprised to the Right Honourable President about ongoing bilateral exchanges between the parliaments of the two countries. Expressing Germany’s readiness to help Nepal in the multiple fields of development, Vice President Roth expressed hope that Nepal’s new constitution would pave the path of political stability and unity of the people and that it will be fully implemented soon. President Bhandari thanked the people and government of Germany for their continuous support to Nepal’s development.

In her meeting with Right Honourable Speaker of Nepal’s Legislature-Parliament, Onsari Gharti Magar, Vice President Roth recalled their meeting in the sidelines of the Conference of Inter Parliamentary Union, held in Dhaka of Bangladesh recently. Vice President Roth stressed on the closer cooperation between the Parliaments of Nepal and Germany.

Vice President Roth held fruitful dialogues with Nepal’s human rights community and civil society, and highlighted their important role in realizing the goals of peace, justice and reconciliation process. Ms. Roth said Nepal should take leadership in the region to articulate the increasing dangers of climate change.

Frau Claudia Roth, Vizepräsidentin des Deutschen Bundestages, beendet ihren erfolgreichen Besuch in Nepal

Claudia Roth Bild vergrößern (© Narayan Maharjan, Büro Präsidentin von Nepal)

Frau Claudia Roth, Vizepräsidentin des Deutschen Bundestages, besuchte Nepal vom 9. bis 11. April 2017. Ziel des Besuchs war die Verbesserung der Zusammenarbeit zwischen den Parlamenten beider Länder und ein Beitrag zur Stärkung der langjährigen bilateralen Freundschaft.

In Nepal traf Vizepräsidentin Roth die Präsidentin von Nepal, Frau Bidya Devi Bhandari. Sie unterrichtete die Präsidentin über die laufenden bilateralen Kontakte zwischen den Parlamenten der beiden Länder. Sie drückte die Bereitschaft aus, Nepal auch weiter in unterschiedlichen Entwicklungsbereichen zu helfen, und brachte ferne ihre Hoffnung zum Ausdruck, dass Nepals neue Verfassung den Weg zur politischen Stabilität und Einheit der Bevölkerung schaffen werde. Präsidentin Bhandari dankte der deutschen Bevölkerung und Regierung für ihre anhaltende Unterstützung Nepals.

In ihrem Treffen mit der Parlamentssprecherin, Frau Onsari Gharti Magar, bezog sich Vizepräsidentin Roth auf ihr kürzliches Treffen am Rande der Konferenz der Interparlamentarischen Union in Dhaka, Bangladesh. Sie betonte, die Zusammenarbeit zwischen den Parlamenten von Nepal und Deutschland ausbauen zu wollen.

Frau Roth hatte fruchtbare Gespräche mit Menschenrechtlern sowie der Zivilgesellschaft in Nepal und hob ihre wichtige Rolle bei der Verwirklichung von Zielen wie Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und dem Versöhnungsprozess hervor. Sie sagte außerdem, Nepal solle in der Region führend auf die steigenden Gefahren des Klimawandels hinweisen.