Visa Information System (VIS) starting from 02.11.2015 in Kathmandu

VIS - Visa Information System Enlarge image (© EU Komission)

The European Union’s Visa Information System (VIS) is applied in Kathmandu from the 2 November 2015.

From this day on it will be compulsory for all Schengen visa applicants to provide fingerprints for their application. The fingerprints will be kept on record in the Visa Information System for 59 months. In case of an application transpiring after the expiration of the 59 months the new fingerprints must be provided. Please note that longer delays may occur shortly after the new system’s implementation. 

The Embassy nevertheless strives to optimize the working procedures concerning the fingerprinting.

Following exemptions from fingerprinting are in accordance to Article 13, Paragraph 7 of the visa codex:

  • Children under 12 years

    Documentation: Document of identification and birth certificate

  • Persons with whom fingerprinting is physically impossible

    Should it be impossible to provide ten fingerprints, then the maximum possible number thereof must be provided. Should the reason preventing the ten fingerprints from being provided be only temporary then the applicant must provide all fingerprints in the next application. 

    Documentation: Not required as it is self-evident

  • Heads of state, leaders of government and members of national governments

    Heads of state, leaders of government and members of national governments with accompanying spouses as well as their official delegations if they are invited on official business by the governments of member states or from international organisations. (This excludes leisure travels as well as all other business travels to Germany.)

    Documentation:
    Invitation from the government of a member state (Invitation by a city or governmental organisation does not suffice) or from an international organisation with confirmation regarding the official business purpose of the journey.

    Note verbale by the dispatching ministry with documentation of its official position and a confirmation of the journey serving an official business purpose as well as a work permit if so required.

  • Monarchs and other high ranking members of a royal family

    Monarchs and other high ranking members of a royal family if they have been invited by governments of member states or by international organizations to an official business event.


    Documentation: Invitation from the government of a member state (invitation by a city or governmental organisation does not suffice) or from an international organisation with confirmation regarding the official business purpose of the journey.

Documentation for these exemptions must, in addition to other application documents, be attached to the application in order for it to be accepted without the provided fingerprints. Please remember to fill out point 27 on the application form.

Personal interview for the Application of a Schengen Visa:

Due to the compulsory providing of fingerprints, a personal interview is always required for first time applicants, should they not identify with one above mentioned exceptions.

Should you already have provided fingerprints with a Schengen Visa application within the last 59 months, you may under the circumstances be relieved of a required personal interview. In this case it is irrelevant to which Schengen member you have provided your fingerprints.

Exempt from a personal interview are those applicants which:

-          In the last 24 months prior to their application were already issued and have legitimately used at least two category C Schengen visas.

Or

-          Were issued a Schengen visa for either one year or multiple years and have used it legitimately within the last 24 months prior to their application.

The issuing and legitimate use of past visas must be documented through corresponding passport copies.

Applications by a married couple for a joint journey can be submitted by either one of the two spouses if the not auditioning spouse has already provided his fingerprinting with another Schengen member embassy in the past 59 months.

The same applies for joint travels with children until the age of 18, providing that children over the age of 12 have already provided their fingerprints with another Schengen member embassy in the past 59 months.

Please note: Every applicant must book their own appointment even if he/she is not being audited. Every applicant must write their signature on their application and all other documents! Under-age children’s applications will be signed by their lawful parental guardians. Please provide the person submitting your application with a letter authorizing him/her to submit your application and to answer the Embassy’s inquiries. Please also provide this person all the necessary information so that they may answer all the Embassy’s questions pertaining to the reason of your travel.

The Embassy reserves the right to also invite individual applicants for interviews who are exempt from personal interviews and the providing of fingerprints.

Einführung des VIS (Visa-Informationssystem) ab dem 02.11.2015

VIS - Visa Information System Bild vergrößern (© EU Komission)

Das Visa-Informationssystem der Europäischen Union (VIS) wurde in Kathmandu am 2. November 2015 in Betrieb genommen.

Ab diesem Tag besteht daher für jeden Antragsteller grundsätzlich die Pflicht zur Abgabe von Fingerabdrücken bei einem Antrag auf ein Schengen-Visum. 

Die Fingerabdrücke werden 59 Monate im Visa-Informationssystem gespeichert. Bei Antragstellung nach Ablauf der 59 Monate müssen die Fingerabdrücke erneut abgegeben werden. Bitte beachten Sie, dass es kurz nach Einführung des Systems zu längeren Wartezeiten kommen kann. Die Botschaft arbeitet jedoch daran, die Arbeitsabläufe bei der Fingerabdruckabnahme zu optimieren.

Es gelten folgende abschließende Befreiungen von der Fingerabdruckabgabe gem. Art. 13 Abs. 7 Visakodex:

  • Kinder unter 12 Jahren

    Nachweis: Ausweisdokument und Geburtsurkunde

  • Personen, bei denen eine Abnahme von Fingerabdrücken physisch unmöglich ist

    Ist die Abnahme von weniger als zehn Fingerabdrücken möglich, so ist die Höchstzahl von Fingerabdrücken zu erfassen. Ist der Hinderungsgrund jedoch nur vorübergehender Art, so ist der Antragsteller verpflichtet, seine Fingerabdrücke beim folgenden Antrag abnehmen zu lassen.

    Nachweis: entfällt, da offenkundig.

  • Staats- und Regierungschefs und Mitglieder der nationalen Regierung

    Staats- und Regierungschefs und Mitglieder der nationalen Regierung mit mitreisenden Ehepartnern und die Mitglieder ihrer offiziellen Delegation, wenn sie von Regierungen der Mitgliedstaaten oder von internationalen Organisationen zu einem offiziellen Anlass eingeladen werden. (Dies umfasst keine Privatreisen und auch keine sonstigen Dienstreisen nach Deutschland.)

    Nachweis:
    Einladung der Regierung eines Mitgliedstaates (Einladung einer Stadt oder staatl. Organisation reicht nicht aus) oder einer internationalen Organisation mit Bestätigung des offiziellen Anlasses der Reise

    Verbalnote des entsendenden Ministeriums mit Angabe der Position und Bestätigung der Dienstreise zum offiziellen Anlass und ggfls. Arbeitsbescheinigung

  • Monarchen und andere hochrangige Mitglieder einer königlichen Familie

    Monarchen und andere hochrangige Mitglieder einer königlichen Familie, wenn sie von Regierungen der Mitgliedstaaten oder von internationalen Organisationen zu einem offiziellen Anlass eingeladen werden.

    Nachweis: Einladung der Regierung eines Mitgliedstaates (Einladung einer Stadt oder staatl. Organisation reicht nicht aus) oder einer internationalen Organisation mit Bestätigung des offiziellen Anlasses der Reise.

Nachweise für diese Ausnahmen müssen zusätzlich zu sonstigen Antragsunterlagen direkt bei Antragstellung vorliegen, damit der Antrag ohne Fingerabdrücke angenommen werden kann. Bitte denken Sie an das Ausfüllen von Punkt 27 des Antragsformulares.

Persönliche Vorsprache bei der Beantragung von Schengen-Visa

Die persönliche Vorsprache ist bei Erstantragstellern auf Grund der Abgabe der Fingerabdrücke immer erforderlich, sofern sie nicht eine der oben aufgeführten Ausnahmen erfüllen.

Sofern Sie bei Beantragung eines Schengenvisums innerhalb der letzten 59 Monate Ihre Fingerabdrücke bereits abgegeben haben, können Sie unter Umständen von der persönlichen Vorsprache befreit sein. Hierbei ist es nicht relevant bei welchem Schengen-Mitglied Sie die Fingerabdrücke abgegeben haben.

Eine persönliche Vorsprache entfällt für Antragsteller, die:

- in den letzten 24 Monaten vor Antragstellung bereits mindestens zwei Schengenvisa der Kategorie C erhalten und rechtmäßig genutzt haben.

oder

- in der Vergangenheit ein Jahres- oder Mehrjahres Schengenvisum erhalten und dieses in den letzten 24 Monaten vor Antragstellung rechtmäßig genutzt haben.

Der Erhalt und die rechtmäßige Nutzung der Vorvisa muss durch entsprechende Passkopien nachgewiesen werden.

Bei einer gemeinsamen Reise beider Ehepartner ist die Abgabe der Anträge durch einen der Ehepartner möglich, sofern der nicht vorsprechende Ehepartner innerhalb der vergangenen 59 Monate bereits seine Fingerabdrücke an einer Schengenvertretung abgegeben hat.

Gleiches gilt für gemeinsame Reisen mit Kindern bis 18 Jahre, sofern Kinder über 12 innerhalb der vergangenen 59 Monate bereits Fingerabdrücke an einer Schengenvertretung abgegeben haben.

Bitte beachten Sie: Für jeden Antragsteller muss ein eigener Termin gebucht werden, auch wenn er nicht persönlich vorspricht. Jeder Antragsteller muss seinen Antrag und sonstige Erklärungen selbst unterschreiben! Bei minderjährigen Kindern wird der Antrag von den sorgeberechtigten Elternteilen unterschrieben. Bitte erteilen Sie der Person, die für Sie den Antrag einreichen soll, eine formlose Vollmacht für die Antragsabgabe und die Beantwortung der Fragen der Botschaft. Bitte geben Sie dieser Person auch alle notwendigen Informationen, damit sie Fragen zum Reisezweck beantworten kann.

Die Botschaft behält sich das Recht vor, Antragsteller, die von der persönlichen Vorsprache oder von der Abgabe der Fingerabdrücke befreit sind, im Einzelfall zu einem Interview einzuladen.